Starbucks. It’s more than just a coffee shop, anyone would agree to that. I mean, they’re all about the augmented product; it’s part of their business model. It’s a home away from home (who hasn’t traveled out of the country for a prolonged period of time and felt a rush of comfortable familiarity upon entering a Starbucks?), it’s an island in stressful times, and it’s always there when you need it the most. In essence it’s a rock. A warm, inviting, well-caffeinated rock. If such a rock ever existed, it would be Starbucks. Anyway, I’m rambling.

So, after my meeting with the Boston Rotaract Club I walked into the Starbucks on Boylston Street, the one near Lord & Taylor (or “Kids & Toys” as my dad once misread it…). Gold Member Sweet 15th Drink coupon in hand, I stumbled up to the counter ready to order a PSL. I was really tired so I also stumbled over my words ordering my Grande Soy Pumpkin Spice Latte. As I excused myself for being exhausted, the barista said “Do you want to make that 3 shots then, you might as well since it’s free?” I happily accepted and went on to ponder how much I love this company. Oh, by the way, the Boylston Street Starbucks has been under construction for a while and I must say it’s coming out well! It has a more modern feel, still cozy but work friendly. There are many tables optimized for laptop use, a large dining room table for those who like to bring their books and coursework, and of course they still offer comfortable seating by the windows. It’s nearly complete, but according to the sign they’re still waiting for some of the furniture to arrive.